By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
What’s on the ballot Nov. 6, 2018
Voter registration deadline Oct. 9
FB DCN Elections 1

Early voting starts Oct. 15 in the 2018 general election, which features the governor’s race along with other local and state races.

The deadline to register to vote or update address information is Oct. 9.

Early voting will take place from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday Oct. 15-Nov. 2 at the Dawson County Board of Elections Office, located at 96 Academy Avenue in Dawsonville.

Saturday early voting will be held from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Oct. 27 at the board of elections office.

Election Day is 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Nov. 6.  Dawson County residents will vote at their poling precincts. Visit to find your precinct.

Ballot and registration information will be available at the Secretary of State and Dawson County websites as the election date nears.

Call the board of elections at (706) 344-3640 for more information.

On the ballot locally will be the District 1 and District 3 Dawson County Commission seats. Sharon Fausett, incumbent for District 1, and Tim Satterfield, running for District 3, were both unchallenged in the primary election.

Also on the ballot for the Dawson County Board of Education seats are Karen Armstrong, R (incumbent) who took the District 3 seat from Joe Stapp in the primaries and at-large member Will Wade, R (incumbent) who ran unchallenged.

Also unchallenged was District 51 State Senator Steve Gooch.  District 9 State Representative Kevin Tanner beat out his opponent in the primary and will also appear on the ballot.

State Representative for the 7th District will also be on the ballot for residents in a portion of Dawson County, where David Ralston, R (incumbent) will face Rick D. Day, D.

State races are as follows:


Brian Kemp, R

Stacey Abrams, D

Ted Metz, L


U.S. House, 9th District

Doug Collins, R (incumbent)

Josh McCall, D

Collins is an attorney and took office in 2013 to represent what is one of the most conservative districts in the country. McCall is a teacher in Gainesville making his first run for public office.


Other statewide races

Lieutenant Governor

Sarah Riggs Amico, D

Geoff Duncan, R


Secretary Of State

John Barrow, D

Smythe Duval, L

Brad Raffensperger, R


Attorney General

Charlie Bailey, D

Chris Carr, R (incumbent)


Commissioner of Agriculture

Gary Black, R (incumbent)

Fred Swann, D


Commissioner of Insurance

Jim Beck, R

Donnie Foster, L

Janice Laws, D


State School Superintendent

Otha E. Thornton Jr., D

Richard Woods, R (incumbent)


Commissioner of Labor

Mark Butler, R (incumbent)

Richard Keatley, D


Public Service Commission, District 3

Chuck Eaton, R (incumbent)

Ryan Graham, L

Lindy Miller, D


Public Service Commission, District 5

Tricia Pridemore, R (incumbent)

Dawn A. Randolph, D

John Turpish, L

Gainesville Times staff contributed to this report.