By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Raffensperger wins runoff for Georgia secretary of state

Republican Brad Raffensperger won the runoff election Tuesday to become Georgia's next secretary of state, defeating Democrat John Barrow with nearly 52 percent of the vote. 

He will take office in January, filling the seat vacated by Governor-elect Brian Kemp in November. 

Raffensperger took 85.83 percent of the vote in Dawson County. 

Also on the  ballot was the District 3 Public Service Commission seat, which was nabbed by Republican Chuck Eaton, who gained 51.83 percent of the vote compared to Democrat Lindy Miller's 48.17 percent. He took 85.02 percent of the vote in Dawson County. 

Voter turnout in Dawson County was 25.48 percent, with 1,889 ballots cast early and 4,657 ballots cast total.