By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Mayoral election today
Polls close at 7 p.m.
Eason and Grogan

The race for the Mayor of Dawsonville seat will conclude today when polls close at 7 p.m.

City voters can head to the Dawson County Board of Elections at 96 Academy Avenue in downtown Dawsonville to cast their vote for the next mayor. 

On the ballot are current Mayor Mike Eason, a retiree and 30-year veteran of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation who moved to the city in 2012, and former Mayor James Grogan, who worked in the hardware business prior to being on city council and is a lifelong resident of Dawsonville. 

Grogan served on the city council from 2010 to 2012, and was appointed acting mayor in April 2012 after the death of Joe Lane Cox. He won the July 31, 2012 special election and was re-elected in 2015 for a four-year term.

He was removed from office by the city council in May 2017 after allegations that he misused city funds. 

The elected mayor will serve the remainder of Grogan's unexpired term, through Dec. 31, 2019, and will be sworn in April 9 at a city council meeting. 

Advance voting ended March 16, with 188 voters having cast their ballots.

The polls opened today at 7 a.m.