By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Election 2020: Live results of the biggest races in Dawson County

With polls closed throughout Georgia, including Dawson County, a complicated primary election season is nearing its end. 

Dawson County Election Officials said that as of 12 a.m. on Wednesday, June 10, votes from all precincts and all absentee ballots, except a few provisional ballots, have been counted. 

Locally, the election spotlight has been on the race for Dawson County Sheriff, between incumbent Jeff Johnson and challengers Marcus Sewell and Jeff Perry. Other local races include two Dawson County Commission seats and a ballot question concerning a potential Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (TSPLOST) 

National and statewide contests include a high profile race for the U.S. House District 9 seat, vacated earlier this year by Rep. Doug Collins, a race for the Georgia House District 9 seat and race for the Georgia Senate District 51 seat. 

With 100% of precincts reporting countywide, here are the preliminary final results:

Dawson County Sheriff

Jeff Johnson (Rep.): 53.92 percent (3,683)
Marcus Sewell (Rep.): 25.72 percent (1,757)
Jeff Perry (Rep.): 20.35 percent (1,390)

Precincts reporting: 100%

Dawson County Commission Chair 

Billy Thurmond (Rep.): 60.9 percent (4,047)
Renee Duren (Rep.): 39.1 percent (2,594)

Precincts reporting: 100%

District 4 Commissioner

Emory Dooley (Rep.): 51.9 percent (3,143)
David Pressley (Rep.): 48.1 percent (2,907)

Precincts reporting: 100%


Yes: 43.81 percent (3,467)
No:  56.18 percent (4,445)

Precincts reporting: 100%

U.S. House District 9 

Michael Boggus (Rep.): 2.49 percent (164)
Paul Broun (Rep.): 4.13 percent (272)
Andrew Clyde (Rep.): 8.24 percent (543)
Matt Gurtler (Rep.): 11.75 percent (774)
Maria Strickland (Rep.): 2.67 percent (176)
Kevin Tanner (Rep.): 58.24 percent (3,838)
Ethan Underwood (Rep.): 6.69 percent (441)
Kellie Weeks (Rep.): 3.29 percent (217)
John Wilkinson (Rep.): 2.50 percent (165)

Devin Pandy (Dem.): 33.1 percent (288)
Dan Wilson (Dem.): 43.10 percent (375) 
Brooke Siskin (Dem.): 23.79 percent (207) 

Precincts reporting: 100%

Georgia House District 9 

Clint Smith (Rep.): 11.11 percent (643)
Will Wade (Rep.): 43.98 percent (2,545)
Steve Leibel (Rep.): 19.06 percent (1,011)
Zach Tumlin (Rep.): 9.4 percent (544)
Doug Sherill (Rep.): 9.56 percent (582)
Tyler Tolin (Rep.): 7.96 percent (461)

Sharon Ravert (Dem.): 100 percent (177)

Precincts reporting: 100%

Georgia Senate District 51 

Steve Gooch (Rep.): 100 percent (5,469)
June Krise (Dem.): 100 percent (836)

Precincts reporting: 100%

Visit the Secretary of State's website for full statewide results.