By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Commission chair receives Joe Lane Cox EMS award
I-Thurmond Awarded pic
Dawson County Emergency Services Chief Lanier Swafford, left, presents current Board of Commissioners Chair and past EMS Director Billy Thurmond with the Joe Lane Cox Excellence in EMS award on May 4. - photo by Allie Dean Dawson County News
Dawson County Board of Commissioners Chairman Billy Thurmond was recognized last week for his previous work as Emergency Medical Services Director and presented with the Region 2 Joe Lane Cox Excellence in EMS Award. Lanier Swafford, current Dawson County Emergency Services director, presented the award.Swafford explained that on April 27, Georgia's Region 2 EMS Advisory Council held its first annual regional awards banquet at Unicoi State Park, after many years sponsoring the award at the state level. "The Joe Lane Cox award has been presented annually on a statewide level by the Region 2 Council to an individual who has made substantial contributions for the promotion and advancement of EMS," Swafford said.