BREAKING: Local legislation could provide specific property tax relief to Dawson County seniors. Here’s the latest.
Dawson County seniors are now one step closer to seeing revamped homestead exemptions with the introduction of two bills to the State House.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Burn ban ends Sept. 30
Placeholder Image

Georgia’s annual air quality ban on outdoor burning, mostly in the northern half of Georgia, will end at midnight on Sept. 30.


The annual restrictions have been in place since May 1 in 54 counties statewide.


Burn permits can be obtained from the Georgia Forestry Commission beginning Oct. 1.


“The Georgia Environmental Protection Division puts this ban in place to comply with Federal Clean Air Regulations,” said Alan Dozier, chief of Forest Protection for the Georgia Forestry Commission.


“Ozone levels increase to unhealthy levels in summer,” he said.  “Most types of open burning are restricted during the ban in an effort to manage the summertime surge in ozone levels.”


In addition to Dawson, the following counties are also a a part of the 2009 burn ban: Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Fulton, Gordon, Gwinnett, Hall, Haralson, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Lumpkin, Madison, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Richmond, Rockdale, Spalding, Troup, Twiggs, Upson, Walker and Walton.


The GFC operates an on-line burn permit system at (877) OK2-BURN.


Residents may also call their county GFC office for more information, or visit