By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Watson named player of the year
All region football Watson pic
Sophomore quarterback Coey Watson has been named Region 7-AAA player of the year by coaches in the region. - photo by File photo

Sophomore quarterback Coey Watson has been named Region 7-AAA player of the year by coaches in the region.

Watson led the Tigers to a 9-4 record and a quarterfinal berth in the state Class AAA football championships last season.

Watson accounted for 2,644 total yards on offense for the Tigers.

He completed 150 of 278 passes for 2,171 yards and 18 touchdowns. On the ground he ran the ball 158 times for 473 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Dawson County first year head coach Sid Maxwell was named coach of the year.

Maxwell helped the Tigers to several firsts this season: Nine wins, first third round playoff game and a region 7-AAA championship.

Maxwell also helped turn around a Tigers team that was 2-8 last season.

The Tigers had 20 players beside Watson named to the team.

Nine players were selected to the first team.

On offense, running back Hunter Mitchell, senior, offensive lineman AJ Maner, freshman, offensive lineman Beau Cooper, senior and wide receiver Tucker Maxwell, senior, were named to the first team.

Mitchell, a converted defensive back, had 185 rushes for 1,300 yards and 12 touchdowns.

He averaged 7 yards per carry.

Maxwell, son of the head coach, pulled in 38 catches for 894 yards and 16 touchdowns.

Maxwell averaged an amazing 23.5 yards per catch. He has signed a baseball scholarship with the University of Georgia.

On the first team defense for Dawson County are defensive lineman Taylor Swofford, sophomore, linebackers Luke Martin, junior, Conor Woodbury, senior, Colby Padgett, senior, and defensive back Andrew Goley, senior.

Named to the second team offense were offensive lineman Brice Henson, junior, and wide receiver Austin Young, junior.

Young completed the season with a team high 52 catches for 698 yards and two touchdowns. He averaged 13.4 yards per catch.

On the second team defense were defensive lineman Brody Chester, senior, linebacker Jeremy Whalen, junior and defensive back Dylan Nix, junior.

Honorable mention Tigers are defensive linemen Hunter Lebaron and Jordan Hannah, offensive lineman Cam Hudson, tight-end Brandon Monkus, offensive lineman Tyler Womack and kicker Alan Sanchez.