By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Track team recognized
S-Track Banquet pic1
Levi Wilson carries the baton during a relay race earlier this season. Wilson was named the Most Improved Runner at the track banquet on May 22. - photo by File photo

Dawson County High School Head Track Coach Arron Haynes honored the past year's track team with a banquet May 22 in the auditorium at Dawson County High School.
The highlights of this year's season were the two runner-up finishes at the state meet by junior Madalyn Walters. Walters finished second in both the 1,600 and 3,200-meters during the state meet. She also broke two school records during the races.
Walters has also been named first team All-Area by the Gainesville Times.
Because of her accomplishments this season Walters was named Most Valuable girl athlete on the track team by Haynes.
Several other awards were presented by Haynes during the banquet. Haynes presented the boys Most Valuable award to junior Zack Wilkins.
Best Runner awards were given to Kayla Schandera on the girls' team and Rush Davenport on the boys' team.
Hayden Wilson and Preston Lewis were recognized as the Best in Field events by Haynes.
Most improved track athletes went to Kimberly Wallace and Levi Wilson.
Winning the Academic Awards was senior Tiger Matt Kellar. Haynes will also lose 13 senior boys and two senior girls from this year's team.
Senior boys include: Art Brown, Jaziel Bustamante, Rush Davenport, Andrew Hinton, Matthew Kellar, Preston Lewis, Kyle Maciolek, Casey McGinnis, Luke Parks, Cody Reidling, Brandon Samples and Levi Wilson.
Graduates on the Lady Tigers team are Sara Dare and manager Megan Todd.
Haynes also awarded either a letter or participation certificate to juniors: Leslie Barnett, Ariel Buttram, Rachael Gloeckner, Shelby Sage, Angelica Santillan, Kristina Smith, Kimberly Wallace, Madalyn Walters, Josh Gee, David Pruett, Bennett Rolle, Kevin Spillane, Josh Styles, Zack Wilkins and Dakota Wood.
Also being recognized at the banquet were sophomore athletes: Bethany Auten, Victoria Cocoran, Savanna Estes, Katie Harrison, Gracie Hovan, Katherine Kirby, Amanda Martin, Becca Monkus, Jessie Parker, Eve Perkins, Kalynn Priest, Belinda Reidling, Riley Robbins, Kayla Schandera, Christine Schmid, Madison Walker, Abbie Wasinger, Taylor Willoughby, Hayden Wilson, Sydney Woodcock, Jessie Parker, Jonathon Erickson, Jesse Gee, Jake Hafermalz, Cory Jenkins, Evan Kells, Danny Maclolek, Hunter Martin, Tony Ramirez and Jonathon Spillane.
Freshmen track members were: Mason Bearden, Tony Chitwood, Avery Cowart, Harris Day, Coty Greer, Zach Guy, Cody Holtzclaw, Ryan Jones, Tobie Lumpkin, Jeremy Rice, Abbigale Brown, Reese Bryant, Hannah Cramer, Tatyana Griffin, Caroline Lee, Kristy Martin, Tara Orr, Jeremy Rice, Jonathon Sanderson, Spencer Wilkins, Briana Seav and Katherine Smith.