By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Soccer teams honored at banquet
Placeholder Image

Dawson County High School varsity soccer players were honored during the end of the year banquet last month at Veterans Park.

The banquet was held May 26 and Head Coach Jed Lacey gave out awards to players from both the boys and girls soccer teams.

Both teams are coming off a successful season in region 7-AAA where the girls' team became region champs after shutting out Banks County. They ended 16-2-1 overall and undefeated in region play. The Lady Tigers' state run ended in the quarterfinals.

"They were young. We started five freshmen," Lacey said about the girls' team.

The boys' team ended their season at 14-4-1 overall were region runner ups at 5-1 in region play. They also advanced to the Elite Eight of the state tournament.

"This was supposed to be our rebuilding year. I thought we'd be fighting for our place this year. We ended up coming in second but the crazy part is we should have won the whole thing," Lacey said.

Senior Emily Queen was named region player of the year and received the academic award for the team. She was also named the Golden Boot (overall MVP) winner for the girls. Queen finished her senior season with 16 goals and eight assists.

Frankie Muldoon was awarded top newcomer of the year and the captain award went to Tina Libao who was also named to the second team all-region.

Defensive MVP was given to junior Ava Walker who was first team all-region and midfield MVP went to Mackenzie Callas who received second team honors.

Offensive MVP was awarded to freshman Rachael Rajczak. She was also a part of the first team all-region.

On the boys' side, junior Patrick Moody was named best support player. Moody received honorable mention on the 7-AAA all region team.

Senior Ty Anglin received the Iron Tiger Award as well as the Captain Award after being named first team all-region and finishing the year with nine shutouts in goal.

Junior Timothy Moody was named defensive MVP and was a member of the all-region second team.

Top newcomer of the year was senior Andrew Goley who was also second team all-region.

Nathan Blythe was voted as midfield MVP and was also second team all-region.

Sophomore Dennis Pyetsukh ended the season with 24 goals which earned him the offensive MVP award and was enough to set a new school record for goals. He was also named to the first team all-region.

The Golden Boot/MVP for the boys' team was awarded to senior Alan Sanchez who was also first team all-region and set a school record with 16 assists.