By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Racers to be inducted at hall of fame event
Placeholder Image

This weekend, the newest class of racers will join their peers in the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame.

The 2014 induction ceremony will be held at 2 p.m. Dec. 13 at the Dawsonville Municipal Complex, which houses the hall of fame.

The 2014 inductees are Leon Archer, Charlie Burkhalter, Julius Hughes, Jack Pennington and Roscoe Smith.

The men were nominated for their contributions to Georgia's motorsport's heritage.

The museum in Dawsonville is recognized by the state legislature as the official home of the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame, which honors prominent members of the state's racing heritage.

The 2014 Driver of the Year will also be announced at the banquet.

The Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Driver of the Year award is determined by votes from prominent motorsports journalists, who are asked to choose a racer from the state of Georgia who competes on any level, in any form of motorsports, whose accomplishments over the past year they feel qualifies them for the award.

Reservations are required to attend the banquet.

For more information, visit