By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Swimmers prepared
Will face Cornerstone on Friday
Racers pic
The Dawsonville Racer swim team practices their strokes during an early morning practice on Monday. The Racers are preparing for a meet tomorrow at the Cornerstone School in Cumming. - photo by Pam Jacobs Dawson Community News

Dawsonville Racers Swim Schedule 2013
Date Opponent Location Time
June 13 Cornerstone School Cumming 5 p.m.
June 15 NGSL Splash Clarkesville TBA
June 20 Cornerstone School Cumming 5 p.m.
June 22 NGSL Invitational Dacula TBA
June 27 Cornerstone School Cumming 5 p.m.
June 28 Frances Meadows Gainesville 5:30 p.m.
July 6 District Meet Clarkesville TBA
July 13 League Championship TBA TBA
July 18-20 State Swim Meet Tifton TBA

More than 30 swimmers braved a chilly, drizzly Monday morning at Veterans Memorial Park in order to prepare for the upcoming meet in Cumming.

The team is preparing to face-off against Cornerstone School in Cumming on Thursday.

Coach Stephanie Morgan has coached the Dawsonville Racers for several years and is excited about the development of her team so far this season.

"Our swimmers are getting better each day. They work hard and are improving tremendously," she said.

This year's team is composed of swimmers, both boys and girls, ranging in age from 4-18.

The Racers will compete, once again, in the North Georgia Swim League.

Members of this year's team are: Ruthie Hubbard, Carsyn Kudlas, Maddie Siuta, Elliot Kinsey, Carson Letchworth, Kinzie Redd, Elizabeth Knight, Carter Redd, Mary Dorminy, Harper Hubbard, Breanna Kudlas, Autum Jarrett, Katie Spillane, Hudson Martin, Thomas Cameron, Gideon O'Bryant, Caroline Dorminy, Isabelle Kinsey, Avery Hout, Ella Siuta, Elisha Mulberry, Aidan Kudlas, Megan Dixon, Anna Mulberry, Tyler Howell, June Harmon, Sarah Beth O'Saben, Grace Dorminy, Grant Trosterud, Lauren Ragey, Martha Thompson, Matthew Wood, Dessie Durham, Hannah Moulder, Katie Mulberry, Kaylee Barrett, Anna Spillane, Mary Kassalen, Hayden Starr, Logan Starr, Anslee Hester, Lindsay O'Saben, Erin Jones, Joseph Spillane, Keylan Steffins, Katherine Kassalen, Taylor Barrett, Brooke Dare, Jessica Collier and Lauren Dare.

The team will also swim in the NGSL Splash at Ruby Fulbright Aquatic Center in Clarkesville.

Anyone interested in participating this year should contact Morgan through Dawson County Park and Recreation at (706) 344-3646.