By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
2 teams headed to state
Placeholder Image

Two Dizzy Dean All-Star teams from Dawson County are going to state.

The 7-year-old and 8-year-old teams will represent the county at their respective state tournaments in July.

The 7-year old team, coached by Billy Smith, played in Jackson County from June 17-20.

Despite losing its first game of the tournament, the team bounced back through the losers bracket before being defeated in the championship game to the Hall County Elite.

Dawson County captured a second place trophy and a spot in the state.

The state tournament began on July 1 in Canton. Scores were not available as of press time.

Members of this year's team are: Elijah Benson, Travis Dickey, Andrew Gilstrap, Max Grant, Braedon Hubbard, Martin Johnson, Aidan Kudlas, Garrett Mooney, Adrien Moore, Nicholas Mullinax, Jonathan Read and Jalen Smith.

The 8-year old team captured the tournament championship with a 19-2 win over the East Jackson Eagles. The tournament was played at Rock Creek Park, June 23-26.

Dawson ran through the winner's bracket with some clutch hits and great defense, according to Dawson County Park and Recreation Athletic Director Kristi Creegan.

The team, led by Head Coach Chad Cofield, will represent District 6 at the Dizzy Dean state tournament July 8-9 in Whitfield County.

Players on this year's team are: Andrew Burt, Brock Bearden, Chris Cofield, Joseph Glover, William Howard, Bailey Jennings, Camden Moore, Ayden Seabolt, Brendan Swafford, Max Tierney, Kinkade Weaver and Ty Whitmire.

"We are very proud of both of these teams and all the Dawson County All-Stars that competed," Creegan said.