By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Walters named to all-area
Finished first at region meet
Cross Country pic
Maddie Walters was named to the All-Area second team by The Times of Gainesville. Walters was the Region 8-AA individual champion and finished 16th in the state AA competition. - photo by File photo

Junior Lady Tiger cross country sensation Madalyn Walters has been named to the second team All-Area team by the The Times of Gainesville.


Walters won the Region 8-AA meet out right before finishing 16th in the state AA meet held in Carrollton.


Walters also owns the school record with a personal best of 19:20. In addition Walters holds the school record in the 1600 and 3200 meters on the track team.


During the state meet, Walters had to battle illness to finish in 16th place out of 184 runners.


Sophomore Tiger runner Jon Erickson also received an honorable mention by the newspaper.


Walters joins an elite group of runners, which includes first team All-Area runners: Victoria Rogers (North Hall), The Times Runner-of-the-Year, Maya Dillard (Buford), Jessie Dotson (White County), Ansley Lawson (North Hall) and Savannah Smith (West Hall).


Second Team girls All-Area are: Walters, Brittany Aikens (Jackson County), Sara Hayes (Gainesville), Kirsten Niedfeldt (North Hall), Kelsey Neukum (Chestatee) and Rachel Pasko (Jackson County).


“We are really proud of the accomplishments that Maddie has done so far in her career,” said Head Cross Country Coach Brian DeRose. “It is truly an honor for her to be named to this team by the newspaper.”


Honorable mention girls were Sydney Baird (Jackson County), Reese Bowles (Jefferson), Micah Bucher (Lumpkin County), Ansley Dobbs (West Hall), Emily Elder (Chestatee), Sarah Harper (North Hall), Taylor Long (West Hall), Laura Mancin (North Hall), Cara Martin (Chestatee), Allison Missler (Jefferson), Maddie Newton (Jackson County), Anahi Ruiz (East Hall), Michayla Scollon (Jackson County), Cara Smith (Jefferson), Maggie Wilson (Chestatee) and Ansley Hardeman (Towns County).


Joining Erickson on the boys’ honorable mention team were: Luis Castaneda (Lakeview), Ivan Diaz (Banks County), Brian Elder (Habersham Central), Levi Fangman (White County), Edgar Guerreo (Chestatee), Andy Hoang (East Hall), Junior Iniguez (West Hall), Kyle Kashuba (Jefferson), Keegan Kyle (West Hall), Kyle Lewis (Lakeview), Chance Martin (North Hall), Jose Perez (Johnson), Alex Reali (Riverside), Diego Sanchez (Chestatee), Dalton Snyder (Lakeview), Dustin Snyder (Lakeview) and J.T. Wood (Jackson County).