By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Two players named honorable mention
Placeholder Image

Two Dawson County High School baseball players were named honorable mention All-Area by the Gainesville Times last week. Seniors Jacob Anglin and Kaleb Holbrook were named to the team that is loaded with college-bound seniors.

Joining Anglin, at second base, on the team are Whit Bowen of North Hall, Drew Carson of Jefferson and Jonathan Woodring of East Hall.

Along with Holbrook at third base were Andrew Smith of North Hall, Cody Streetman of Commerce and Andy Williams of Jackson County.

Named player-of-the-year for the area was David Sosebee, a pitcher from White County.

The senior was 10-1 on the mound with an astounding 0.61 ERA. Sosebee also record 115 strikeouts in 66.2 innings of work. He was also tremendous at the plate with 10 home runs, 30 runs batted in, and a .386 batting average.

Also named first team were: Brody Thomas, Flowery Branch; Will Anderson, Lumpkin County; Skyler Weber, Gainesville; Luke Crumley, White County; Will Maddox, Gainesville; Troy Heterick, Buford; Jake Shirley, West Hall; Chris Stevens, North Hall; Logan Conley, Flowery Branch; Josh Heddinger, Buford; and Jake Burnette, Buford.

Second team members were: Jacob Whitenton, Lakeview Academy; Chandler Newton, West Hall; Josh Swistak, Commerce; Trae Wilson, Johnson; Jake Brewer, Habersham Central; A.J. Benefield, Johnson; Kyle Mills, White County; Colton Davis, Commerce; Stephen Mason, Gainesville; Sam Clay, Buford; Preston Graham, North Hall; and Andrew Laur, Flowery Branch.

Other honorable mention players were: Pitchers - Brock Gordon, Union County; Robert Hayes, Commerce; Justin Hester, White County; Drew Stephens, Habersham Central; Trey Thomas, Union County; and Cole Walden, Lumpkin County.

Catchers - Jesse Brookshire, Flowery Branch; Nick Drury, Lakeview; Dalton Everett, Union County; Austin Gooch, Lumpkin County; Jamie Ritchie, Buford; Trey Sorrells, Jackson County; Tyler Stinespring, Habersham Central; and Austin Thompkins, East Hall.

First base - Hamilton Harper, North Hall; Adam Hooper, White County; and Seth McEntire, Banks County.

Shortstop - Hayden Cummins, White County; Max Ford, Jefferson; Keenan Lord, Commerce; Zach Odom, Union County; Logan Pethel, Johnson; and Jesse Strickland, North Hall.

Outfield - Chase Barnett, Commerce; Brian Clark, Buford; Taylor Denton, Towns County; Michael Gettys, Gainesville; Ryan Griffith, Gainesville; Tony Holton, Jackson County; Bo Medlock, White County; Griffin Olson, North Hall; Austin Tench, Habersham Central; and Tyler White, Buford.

Utility players - Hunter Anglin, Gainesville; Gant Davis, Flowery Branch; Breck Davidson, Flowery Branch; Dallas Deavers, Lakeview; David Gonzalez, Gainesville; Mason Gentry, Buford; Quin Grogan, Jackson County; Jacob Harrison, Riverside; Chase Hulsey, Flowery Branch; Billy Meier, Towns County; Clayton Oliver, Habersham Central; Austin Robinson, Jackson County; Mason Savage, North Hall; Anfernee Seymour, Riverside; Taylor Simpson, Lakeview; and Alan Turpin, Towns County.

The 2011 Times All-Area baseball coach of the year was Scott Meyers from Flowery Branch.