By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Two make team
Group honors DCHS seniors
All State-Brown mug

Dawson County High School seniors Zach Johnson and Ethan Brown were selected to the Georgia Sports Writers Association 2010 AA All-State football team, released on Dec. 26.


Johnson was picked as an offensive lineman and Brown was selected as a defensive back.


Johnson will join a select group on offense that will include quarterback Landon Curtis (Calhoun), running backs Isaiah Crowell (Carver-Columbus) and Marteze Waller (Putnam County), wide receivers Rod Hall (Laney) and J.T. Palmer (Calhoun), tight end Leonard Floyd (Dodge County), linemen Kyle Harris (Pepperell), Vadal Alexander (Buford), Jodece Smith (Carver-Columbus), and Nick Lawson (Dade County), kicker Adam Griffith (Calhoun), and Dillon Lee (Buford).


Johnson was a four-year starter on offense and defense for Tiger Head Coach Jeff Lee. He has committed to play football at Troy University next season and will begin classes in January.


Tiger senior captain Ethan Brown was chosen as part of an elite group of defensive players as a defensive back.


Also being named in the secondary are Tremane Kelly (Manchester), Teyin Stewart-Gaulden (Fitzgerald) and Andre Johnson (Southwest Macon). Other first team defensive players are linemen E.J. Shipman (Brooks County), Greg Hall (North Oconee), Rick LeGrant (Buford) and Gus Roberts (Calhoun), linebackers Shannon Brown (Cook), Alex Kirby (Calhoun), Eric Worthen (Swainsboro) and Maurice Martin (Dublin), punter Landon Beck (Hart County), and returner Valdon Cooper (Elbert County).


“It is an honor to have both of these fine young men selected to this team,” Lee said.