By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Tri-meet starts season
Placeholder Image

On a bitterly cold and windy afternoon the Dawson County High School boys and girls track teams opened their seasons with a tri-meet against Jackson County and Johnson.

Both teams came away victorious. The Tigers scored 33 points and routed Johnson's 28 points and Jackson County's 24 points.

Tigers Cory Jenkins, pole vault, and Dylan Forrester in the 3200-meters won their events.

On the girls' side, Dawson County dominated and scored 56 points to Jackson County's 15 points, while Johnson tallied one point.

Kristy Martin won the shot put and discus.

Other winners include Cassidy LeCours in the high jump, Christine Schmid-pole vault, Savanna Estes in the 3200-meter and the 4x100 relay team of Tara Orr, Camryn Geiger, Katelynn Simpson and Brooke Duffy.

"We ended the meet after the 4x100 relay because it was too cold and kids were pulling things," said head coach Arron Haynes.

Members of this year's boys' team include: Seniors; Seth Banks, Camron Chester, Jesse Gee, Jake Hafermalz, Cory Jenkins, Evan Kells, JP King, Danny Maciolek, Levi Pressley, Tony Ramirez and Cole Waters. Juniors; Mason Bearden, Kyle Bertolone, Mason Carr, Bryan Colin, Avery Cowart, Forrest Ehrich, Dylan Forrester, Ryan Jones, Drew Kellar, Eric Leonard, Josh Litherland, Doug O'Brian, Lucas Pain, Chris Sayler, Spencer Wilkins, Josh Woody and Scott Zadernak. Sophomores; Brandon Abbott, Rhys Adams, Gavin Brown, Quade Buytendorp, Franklin Burt, Gabe Cowart, Ben Drew, Justin Evans, Avery Gaddis, James Holton, Jacob Ingram, Keagan Matthews, Justin Posey, Cole Smith and Ben Umberger. Freshman; Harrison Adams, Garrett Carlisle, Logan Hurst, Duncan Korbor and Jake Satterfield.

On the girls' side the roster includes: Seniors; Victoria Corcoran, Savanna Estes, Carly Gilreath, Becca Monkus, Hannah Porter, Christine Schmid and Hayden Wilson. Juniors; Hannah Crammer, Brooke Duffy, Caroline Lee, Kristy Martin, Tara Orr, Maddie Sexton and Katherine Smith. Sophomores; Tatum Bales, Carly Glaze, Taylor Grindstaff, Savannah Haberkam, Andrea Herr, Cassidy Lecours, Anela Melton, Jordan Moore, Claudia Santillian, Jordan Seppenfield and Megan Spillane. Freshmen; Ashton Abbott, Marley Biddulph, Haley Burgess, Iris Delira, Sage Fitts, Camryn Geiger, Sadie Hardesty, Dana Little, Katelynn Simpson, Faith Sinclair, Jorden Thompson, Sarah Tinsley, Katie Williamson and Katelyn Ventresco.