By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Tigers prominent in 7-AAA Regional Football Awards
S-Football awards pic 2.JPG
TJ Wilson, senior, throws out the stiff-arm against a Denmark Dane defender in a Sept. 14 game. - photo by Bob Christian
The 7-AAA All-Region Awards and First Team Honors for football were announced at the beginning of December and the Dawson County Tigers were heavily featured as 13 members of the varsity team were named to the list. Scoring 18 touchdowns while amassing 1,418 rushing yards on a season average of 9.8 yards per carry and 118.2 yards per game, senior running back Ahmad Kamara captured the Offensive Most Valuable Player Award. Kamara was quick to accept thanks for the honor but quicker to acknowledge his teammates. “It is nice to win,” Kamara said. “But I couldn’t have done it without the rest of the guys, you know.”