By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Three players named honorable mentions
Placeholder Image

Three Lady Tigers were recently named to the 2012 All Area Tennis Team recently announced by The Times of Gainesville.

Being named to the list were senior, Kristi Hyams, and juniors, Hannah Porter and Hannah Velcoff.

Also on the honorable mention team were: Taylor Bost, Jefferson; Lauren Carter, Gainesville; Eryn Cochran, Towns County; Kayla Olin, Towns County; Harlee Robson, Johnson; Annalea Stevens, Buford and Mady Wuest, Gainesville.

Named girls players-of-the-year were Durden Smith and Bekki Benton, both of Flowery Branch High School. The doubles partners had a combined record of 20-2 and lost only four sets all season. The duo was also named All-Region in 8-AAAA.

Joining the pair on the first team All-Area were: Kelley Cohron, Buford; Elizabeth Mallory, Flowery Branch; Madison Smith, Flowery Branch; Anna Kate Shaw, Flowery Branch; and Dani Taylor, Flowery Branch.

On the second team were: Morgan Mercer, Gainesville; Suzanne Smith, Gainesville; Erin Cransler, West Hall; Sunny Xayavongsa, West Hall; Nicole Morris, Flowery Branch; Georgia Summer, Gainesville; and Maggie Turner, Johnson.