By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Three Lady Tigers named All-State
Softball pic1
Lady Tiger Emily Hunsucker takes a big swing. - photo by File photo

Three Dawson County High School varsity softball players were named to the Class AAA All-State team by the Georgia Athletic Coaches Association.

Selected for the first team, as an outfielder, was Tabitha Morrison and senior Joy Lewis as a utility player.

Lewis was also named Region 7-AAA pitcher of the year, recording 222 strikeouts in 201 innings of work from the circle.

The senior completed the season with an ERA of 2.36. On offense, Lewis batted .408 with 24 RBIs and 28 runs scored.

Morrison was also impressive at the plate. She had a .511 batting average, eight doubles, a home run, 27 RBIs, and 31 runs scored.

Voted to the second team was infielder Emily Hunsucker.

Dawson County finished the season at 22-8-1. Coach Jimmy Pruett's Lady Tigers ended up as the No. 6-ranked team in Class AAA.

Calhoun defeated Ringgold to capture the state championship. The Lady Yellow Jackets had nine players selected to the All-State team.

Joining Lewis and Morrison on the first team were: Pitchers; Taylor Funk (Central, Carrollton), Haley Holloway (Dodge County) and Emily Mitchell (Calhoun); catchers Aubrie Osborne (Murray County), Sarah Beth King (Pierce County) and Christine Kraybill (Blessed Trinity); infielders Jana Johns (Calhoun), Haley Sims (Central, Carrollton), Margaret Simmons (Dodge County), Alisha Frierson (Morgan County) and Katie Nichols (Blessed Trinity); outfielders Ryan Brzozoski (Calhoun), Cassie Griffin (Central, Carrollton) and Madison Green (Calhoun); utility player Jennifer Jernigan (Pierce County).

Class AAA Pitcher of the Year was Kinsey Liscio from Calhoun.

Player of the Year went to Taylor Kelly, also from Calhoun. Coach of the Year was Calhoun's Diane Smith.

Selected to the second team, along with Hunsucker, were pitchers Jessie Michael (Oconee County), Kasie Johnson (Pierce County) and Peyton Sorrells (Jackson County); catchers Nikki Graham (Dodge County), Chloe Rice (Calhoun) and Jessica Burke (Jackson County); infielders Ashlyn Barnes (Calhoun), Aubrey Bennett (Central, Carrollton) and Cade North (Central Carrollton); outfielders, Breanca Davis (Rutland), Sara Couch (Morgan County), Allie Jones (Calhoun) and Ansley Hart (Oconee County); utility players Ashley Strong (Murray County) and Shelton Kendrix (Jackson County).