By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Three ladies recognized
Placeholder Image

Three Dawson County High School Lady Tigers basketball players were honored by The Times of Gainesville last week.

Juniors Sheyenne Seabolt and Ashley Parker were named first and second team all-area respectively, while Karlie Bearden was voted to the honorable mention team.

Seabolt, a 5'11" post player, averaged 17 points per game for Head Coach Steve Sweat's team last season.

Seabolt also pulled down 7.5 rebounds and shot 51.3 percent from the field. The junior also achieved a milestone by scoring her 1,000-point against White County in January.

Parker scored an average of 14.8 points per game last season for the Lady Tigers. The junior also averaged 9.1 rebounds, 2.4 assists, and 2.1 steals per game for Dawson County. Parker also recorded her 500th rebound of her career during the 2013-14 season.

All-Area player-of-the-year was Bridgette Kelly from Chestatee High School.

The 5'6" senior guard led Coach Web Daniel's team to a 24-win season their first region title. Kelly scored 17 points per game. Her specialty was the three-point shot, connecting on 75 shots beyond the arc. Kelly also averaged 4.6 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game.

Completing the first team roster were: Sydney Cleveland (North Hall), Camille Anderson (Buford), Schyler Miller (Lakeview Academy) and Jatasia Bailey (East Hall).

Joining Parker on the second team were: Lainey Gosnell (Habersham Central), Hannah Grogan (Lakeview Academy), Bree Horrocks (Buford), Taylor Hawks (Gainesville) and Eryn Cochran (Towns County).

Bearden, a sophomore guard, for the Lady Tigers was listed with several fine players on the honorable mention tea, including: Maia Caldwell (West Hall), Sadie Cleveland (North Hall), Kensi Gillespie (North Hall), Paisley Lee (Gainesville), Breanna Locke (Flowery Branch), Kylah Mize (Flowery Branch), Paige Thomas (White County), Daniele Morgan (Lakeview), Kayla Watson (Chestatee), Jenny Edwards (East Hall), Corey Staples (Buford), Tara Dambach (Buford), Lily Mather (Commerce), Hannah Davis (Commerce) and Brooke Maddox (Union County).