BREAKING: Georgia Supreme Court upholds Dawson County man’s conviction for Hannah Bender’s 2019 murder
The district attorney recognized the "horrific” nature of Bender’s death, thanking those involved in the judicial process and stating that “justice was well served” in the case.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Team has successful four years
Placeholder Image

Dawson County High School Head Soccer Coach Jed Lacey honored the 2011 boys soccer team at a banquet May 19 in Dawsonville.

The team finished the season with an overall record of 10-7.

"We have won 10 games or more for the fourth year in a row," Lacey said.

Dawson lost in the first round of the playoffs to Westminster, 4-0.

After dinner, Lacey recognized 36 players and managers with either player participation certificates or letters. Lacey also presented several awards to his players.

Tiger sophomore Jose Miranda received the Golden Boot award for best all-around player.

Presented the Offensive Most Valuable Player award was sophomore Josh Lund. Lund broke the school record for number of goals in a season with 18 this year.

Winning the Defensive Most Valuable Player award was senior defender Ethan Brown.

Brown has been a consistent starter on defense throughout his 4-year career at Dawson County High School.

Brown will continue his athletic career at The Cumberlands in Kentucky as a defensive back on the college's football team.

Tiger senior Eian Perry was given the Iron Tiger Award by Lacey. Perry was a defender for the Tigers.

Other awards received were the Coaches Award to Cody Hall, Best Support Players went to freshman goalie Brooks Fulford, and the Rising Tiger Award was presented to freshman Logan Hayes.

Lacey lost four seniors this season. Playing their last game for the high school were: Eian Perry, Ethan Brown, Sam Edwards and Cody McGinnis.

Juniors on this year's squad were: James Carr, Tyler Freeman, Cody Hall, Stanton Rogers and Sam Wentworth.

There were 10 sophomores who either played varsity or junior varsity for the Tigers.

The group includes: Gunnar Armstrong, Chris Bywaletz, Brandon DeBlois, Larry Florentine, Michael Gilbert, Tyler Griggs, Josh Lund, Jose Miranda, Chase Mullins and Jacob Picklesimer.

Sixteen freshman were a part of this year's program: Drew Bishop, Mason Carr, Brooks Fulford, Logan Hayes, Drew Kellar, Jacob Kulwicki, Ben Leaver, Josh Litherland, Caleb MacDonald, Jacob Miller, Luis Miranda, Max Muldoon, Jackson Putnam, Isaac Rice, Cole Simmons and Scott Zadernak.

Also recognized by Lacey were the four managers: Seniors; Savannah Browder and Brigid Scully: Sophomores; Kaylin Miller and Paige Reese.