By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Seniors recognized
52 athletes moving on
Placeholder Image

The final athletic banquet of the year was held on May 22 at Dawson County High School.

The annual Senior Letterman's Banquet honors all graduating athletes from Dawson County High School. The yearly event is put on by the athletic department under Dawson County High School Athletic Director Grady Turner.

It was a special year in sports at the school.

Dawson County teams captured five region championships, seven region runners-up finishes, and made 17 trips to state playoff play.

The athletic department's motto is, "The Other Half of Education."

Turner welcomed all the guests, which included the local board of education.

After the invocation by coach Mark Ragsdale a dinner was served to all guests.

Board chairwoman Elaine Wilson gave an inspirational speech to the athletes and their families after dinner.

Turner then presented the Sandy Walls Award to Madalyn Walters. Walters has been offered a scholarship to run for the University of Georgia next season.

Stanton Rogers was awarded the Sandy Walls award for the male student. Rogers will continue his soccer career at LaGrange College next season.

Coach of the Year award went to the head girls and boys soccer coach Jed Lacey.

Assistant Coach of the Year was Chess Hamby.

There were 52 senior athletes that graduated this year. More than half, 27, graduated with honors.

STAR student Grant Shope was among the list of honor graduates.

This year's honor graduates who are also athletes were: Preston Adams, Sarah Anglin, Courtney Blair, Stephanie Brady, Luke Branson, Lora Brown, Morgan Collett, James Evans, Rachael Gloeckner, Cody Hall, Tayler Hasbrouck, Morgan Huber, Kristi Hyams, Carissa Perez, Stanton Rogers, Shelby Sage, Caleb Samples, Brooke Shively, Grant Shope, Kevin Spillane, Emily Stowers, Michael Styles, Tatum Turner, Kimberly Wallace, Madalyn Walters, Sam Wentworth and Dakota Wood.

The remaining senior athletes included: Ariel Buttram, James Carr, Cody Christopher, Travis Dawson, Michael Garrett, Josh Gee, Robert Hardegree, Shannon Holbrooks, Logan Lewis, Summer Lewis, Jonathan Mulberry, Scott Parker, Alec Pearson, Amber Picklesimer, Angelica Santillan, Samantha Sayler, Lee Smith, Jared Stokes, Dylan Stradley, Josh Styles, Tyler Thurmond, Anna Torres, Shelby Whitaker, Morgan Williams and Gavin Wilson.

Turner also recognized the coaching staffs, including: Keely Amos, Jed Lacey, Jamey Bearden, Jeff Lee, Thad Burgess, Chris Lundy, Ryan Coker, John Lundy, Chris Dearwent, Steven Moates, Brian DeRose, Jimmy Pruett, Benji Edwards, Michael Pruitt, Kim Fleming, Mark Ragsdale, Wes Greer, Melissa Reece, Chess Hamby, Nicki Rogers, Arron Haynes, Van Samples, John Kenny and Steve Sweat.

Community coaches recognized were: Matt Castleberry, George Moser, George Graves, Noel Poisson, Dane Trusterud and Gary Wilson.