By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Senior placed on 2nd team
Averaged 15 points, 10 rebounds a game
Placeholder Image

Dawson County High School senior Tiger basketball player, Jacob Evans, was named to the second team All-Area by the Gainesville Times.


Evans averaged 15 points per game and 10 rebounds per game for the team this season.


He also connected on 165, 3-point shots during the last two seasons.


During his career on the varsity, Evans scored more than 1,000 points and pulled down more than 500 rebounds.


“This is an honor for Jacob. He will be hard to replace,” said Head Coach Thad Burgess.


Dawson County point guard Tyler Dominy, a sophomore, was named an honorable mention on the list.


West Hall player Shunquez Stephens was named Times’ All-Area Boys’ Player-of-the-Year.


The 6’5’ forward averaged 18.1 points per game and 12.1 rebounds for Head Coach Warren Sellers’ Spartans.


Joining Stephens on the first team were: Sterling Bailey (Sr., East Hall), Joshua Hampton (Jr., East Hall), TJ Shipes (Sr., Buford), Kymon Woods (Sr., East Hall) and Jarquise Young (Sr. West Hall).


Named to the second team with Evans were: Alex Flagler (Sr., Buford), Matt Hollis (Jr., Johnson), A.J. Johnson (Sr., Gainesville), Keelan Passmore (Soph., Chestatee) and Dre Pou (Sr., West Hall).


On the honorable mention team with Dominy were: Chris Barnes (Sr., North Hall),  Bubba Bonds (Sr., Commerce), Pat Burns (Jr., Habersham Central), Shaquan Cantrell (Soph., Gainesville), Alex Crawford (Sr., Jackson County), Rudy Deaza (Sr., Flowery Branch), Kevin Ellison (Jr., Habersham Central), Tyler Gamble (Sr., Commerce), Taylor Guthrie (Sr., Lumpkin County), Adrian Humphrey (Soph., Riverside), J.R. Hurst (Sr., White County),     Ashely Lowery (Sr., White County), Zac Lynn (Sr., Buford), Austin Montgomery (Soph., Lakeview), Anthony Norris (Sr., Commerce), Chris Orr (Jr., East Hall), Austin Pearson (Jr., Lakeview), Dre Perry (Sr., East Hall), Brandon Romans (Sr., Commerce), Skylar Smith (Sr., Union County), Jamaad Stephens (Soph., West Hall), William Stroup (Sr., West Hall),  Deshaun Watson (Fr, Gainesville), Jackson Wells (Sr., Lakeview) and Kolin Zimmer (Jr., Jackson County).