By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Players honored
Placeholder Image

The Dawson County High School 2013 tennis program held its awards banquet last week.

Coach Ryan Coker handed out awards to several standouts.

Hannah Velcoff and Spencer Roper received the spring academic award from the

Dawson County High School Athletic Department for all spring sports.

For the girls, Velcoff was awarded the Tiger Award.

Teammate Lauren Morgan was crowned MVP.

Roper won the Tiger award for the guys.

Co-MVP's were earned by Hayden Roper and Dillard Blanton.

"This season was a great season. I couldn't have asked for a better season or a better group of players for my first year as a head coach for tennis. I'll miss my seniors but I'm also looking forward to what the underclassman can do next year," Coker said.

Members of this year's teams were: Miranda Abe, Abbigale Brown, Whitney Glover, Makienze Hamby, Allison Hoyne, Lauren Morgan, Hannah Porter, Peyton Porter, Madison Shope, Hannah Velcoff, Victoria Sousa, Cecilia Macisova, Craig Butler, Dillard Blanton, Darius Walker, Hayden Roper, Hunter Walton, Jeremiah Freelund, Lane Venters, Max Muldoon, Riley Westbrook, Spencer Roper and Tristan Ingram.