By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Miranda scores first time honors
Boys Soccer pic1
Tiger sophomore Jose Miranda was selected First Team All-Area by the Gainesville Times. Miranda set a school record with 21 assists, while scoring 14 goals. - photo by File photo

Dawson County High School Tiger soccer player Jose Miranda was named first team All-Area by the Gainesville Times last week.

Miranda set a school record with 21 assists this past season for his 10-7 Dawson County team.

Miranda also scored 14 goals for the state playoff team coached by Jed Lacey. He is only a sophomore and has two more seasons for the Tigers at his midfield position.

Boys' player of the year recognition went to Ariel Mejia of Johnson High School in Gainesville. Mejia scored 20 goals and had four assists for the Knights. He was also named to the GASCA All-Star team.

Joining Miranda and Mejia on the first team is Nicholas Andrade from East Hall. Andrade scored 14 goals and added 16 assists for the Vikings. During his career Andrade had 81 goals.

Also on the first team are Rojelio Navarette of Habersham Central, with 22 goals and eight assists, and Vincent Thomas of Union County, with 30 goals and nine assists.

During Thomas's 4-year career for the Panthers the team had a record of 53-3-1.

Aiden Reising from Gainesville High scored six goals with 13 assists; Chandler Ligas, West Hall, scored six goals with 12 assists for the Spartans; Emmanuel Ibarra of Chestatee scored six goals with three assists from his defensive position; Charlie Bryant from Gainesville had three goals, nine assists, and 178 takeaways from defense; Josh Welborn, Habersham Central; and Antonio Rivera also from Habersham Central. Rivera recorded 10 shutouts with 134 saves for the Raiders.

Named to the second team from Dawson County was sophomore Josh Lund. Lund set a new school record this season for the Tigers with 18 goals. He also added eight assists from his forward position.

Dawson County Senior Eian Perry was also named to the second team by the Times.

Also being named to the second team were: Christian Zavala, Habersham Central; Yuins Yanes, Gainesville; Juan Morfin, Johnson; Tony Gonzalez, North Hall; Rigo Mojica, Johnson; Nathan Dillard, Gainesville; Jacob Spaulding, Union County; and Michael Herrin, Chestatee.

Named honorable mention from Dawson County were: Ethan Brown, Brooks Fulford, Cody McGinnis and Cody Hall.

Joining the Tigers on the honorable mention team were: Erly Acosta, Flowery Branch; Victor Gaspar, Habersham Central; John Gee, Jackson County; Christian Gomez, Gainesville; Ricardo Gomez, Gainesville; Robert Griffeth, Jefferson; Adrian Guadaram, North Hall; Miguel Guereca, Jackson County; Eddie Hurst, White County; JR Hurst, White County; Ricardo Madero, Riverside Military; Oliseabuka Madiche, Riverside Military; Dillon Martin, North Hall; David Martin, North Hall; Joshua Martin, Johnson; Christian Manzo, Flowery Branch; Douglas Mejia, Gainesville; Jonathan Mendoza, Johnson; Kolby Mooney, White County; Dante Moss, White County; Jesus Muniz, Johnson; Edgar Ochoa, Johnson; Barut Perez, Johnson; Cody Pfister, North Hall; Roldan Reyes, Chestatee; Victor Salcido, Riverside Military; Martin Sanchez, Riverside Military; Wesley Saunders, White County; Luis Teran, Flowery Branch; and Bryan Thao, Jefferson.