By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Ladies set goals high
Softball Practice pic
Heather Brady warms up at a recent Dawson County High School softball practice. - photo by Mark Watkins Dawson Community News

Could this be the year for the Dawson County softball team? The Lady Tigers having been playing practice games this summer eagerly anticipating the 2012 campaign.

The team has been playing scrimmage games against teams from around the area on Monday and Wednesday nights at Lumpkin County High School.

The team is coming off a 21-11 record from last season.

Dawson County was eliminated from the state tournament by Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe in two disappointing losses at home to end the season last year.

Head coach Jimmy Pruett will have a wealth of experience coming back this season.

It will start on the mound where Jenna Abbott will return for her senior season.

Abbott, an Auburn University recruit, will be the key to the success of the Lady Tigers.

If Abbott experiences trouble, enter Martie Rogers.

Rogers would be the number one pitcher on most teams, according to coaches.

When not pitching, Rogers or Abbott will play first base.

At second base will be either seniors Gracie Hovan or Natalie Burt. Samantha Moulder will return at shortstop for the Lady Tigers.

Pruett must find a replacement for Kimberly Wallace at catcher. Wallace was a four year starter at the position. He must also find a third baseman for departed senior Morgan Huber.

Possible replacements at catcher could be Carly Gilreath, Moulder or Becca Monkus.

Pruett pretty much returns his entire outfield from last season's team. He lost seniors Kristi Hyams and Anna Torres to graduation.

This year's outfield will consist of speedster Carly Gilreath, Taylor Shirley and Taylor Willoughby.

Dawson County will open the season at the Lanier Point Park Tournament in Gainesville.

The Lady Tigers will square off with Wesleyan at 6:30 p.m. Aug. 10.

There will be seven seniors on this year's team: Hovan, Gilreath, Burt, Shirley, Moulder, Monkus and Abbott.

The team will officially begin practices on Aug. 1, according to Pruett.