By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Girls show all-area soccer skills
Placeholder Image

The Times of Gainesville selected five Dawson County Lady Tigers to the All-Area selections last week.

Nominated for first team were Devon Coates, Taylor Bennett and Tina Libao.

Chosen to represent the honorable mention team were senior McKay Shively and sophomore Mackenzie Callas.

Bennett, senior, scored 19 goals and had 14 assists in an abbreviated season due to injury.

The Brenau University signee played in just 12 games for Head Coach Jed Lacey's team. Despite her season ending surgery Bennett was named 7-AAA player-of-the-year.

Sophomore defender, Coates, was part of a defense that allowed just 14 goals all season and 11 shutouts.

Libao, a junior midfielder, scored 12 goals and has 13 assists for the Lady Tigers this past campaign.

The Times All-Area player-of-the-year went to senior Tyler Bennett from Chestatee High School. Bennett, goalie, had eight shutouts and led the team to the state quarterfinals.

Other first selections include Samantha Addington (Chestatee)-defender; Abi Hunt (Lumpkin County)-defender; Jazmin Penado (Gainesville)-midfielder; Katie Kirkland (West Hall)-midfielder; Alexis Satterfield (Lumpkin County)-forward; Elexa Bahr (Buford)-forward and Carmen Wagner (Lakeview Academy)-forward.

Named to the second team All-Area are Ashlyn Atrip (Lumpkin County-goalie; Savannah Rauth (Lumpkin County)-defender; Lauren Pope (East Hall)-defender; Yazmin Murillo (East Hall)-defender; Madeline McCarthy (Flowery Branch)-midfielder; Jenna Gearing (White County)-midfielder; Sadie Foote (Chestatee)-midfielder; Meredith Tucker (Lakeview Academy)-midfielder; Reachel Beaulieu (West Hall)-forward; Alyssa Turner (Gainesville)-forward and Katie Edwards (North Hall)-forward.

Selected honorable mention are Morgan Fagan, freshman, Lumpkin County; Sarah Hollifield, junior, North Hall; Cassidy Sullens, senior, Habersham Central; Katie Dolph, junior, Habersham Central; Erin Byers, sophomore, Habersham Central; McKenzie Simpson, junior, Banks County; Kaylee Whitfield, sophomore, Banks County; Mara Wheat, sophomore, Flowery Branch; Elizabeth Fischer, senior, Gainesville and Dallas Robson, junior, Gainesville.

DCN regional staff contributed to this story.