BOLO: Law enforcement still looking for person of interest in rape incident
Authorities are still searching for the man.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Four participate in state traditionals
Wrestling season comes to an end
Placeholder Image

The Dawson County wrestling team participated in the state traditional wrestling tournament last weekend at the Gwinnett Arena in Duluth. The Tiger wrestlers accumulated 11.5 points to finish in 41st place.


This year’s tournament was in a 32-wrestler bracket. It was organized this way due to bad weather causing havoc on several sectional tournaments.


Four Dawson wrestlers participated in the tournament.


Tiger James Evans wrestled at 112 pounds. Evans won his first round match against Jasper Woods from Callaway with a technical fall, 15-0.


Evans wasn’t as fortunate in the second round. He lost to Greg Wynn from Macintosh County.


In the wrestle backs Evans bounced back to defeat Spencer Hutchins from Buford with a pin. The 112-pounder was then put out of the tournament with a 7-3 loss to Caleb Bumpers of Greater Atlanta Christian.


David Wood, 125 pounds, got off to a great start. Wood defeated his first two opponents, Devonte Carr from Northeast Macon by a pin and Antoine Tyson from Macintosh County 7-6.


Wood was eliminated from the tournament by losing his next two matches to Matt Woodring (Adairsville), 4-2, and Chris Solar from Blessed Trinity by a 7-4 score.


Losing their opening round matches and being eliminated from the tournament were Charles Short at 135 pounds and Preston Adams at 145 pounds.


Short lost his first match to Josh Wheeler from Benedictine.


Adams was eliminated by Alex Kanocz from Adairsville.


Jefferson High School won the team title. The Dragons amassed 270 points, which was 95 points better than second place finisher Henry County.


Jefferson had seven wrestlers win individual titles.


Winning for the Dragons were: Kyle Springer (103), Cason Thurmond (112), Isaac Kelly (119), Cain Finch (140), Forrest Przybysz (160), Lucas Redd (189) and Zach Allen (215).


It was the ninth consecutive traditional title for the Dragons.


Dawson’s wrestling season is now complete.