By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
For the first time in 20 years, Dawson County High School will induct a Hall of Fame class
Dawson County High School will recognize its 2023 Hall of Fame class next Friday, Feb. 10, in the Ford Phillips Center between the varsity basketball games. - photo by Rio White

(Note: This article was updated online to reflect a clarification made by the DCHS Athletic Director)

Dawson County High School announced recently that it will hold a Hall of Fame induction ceremony for the first time in 20 years.

The event will be held Friday, Feb. 10, beginning at 4:30 p.m. in the high school’s Performing Arts Center. 

Later that evening, the inducted individuals will be recognized in the Ford Phillips Center between the varsity girls and boys basketball games. 

DCHS Athletic Director Bradley Fowler stated that this year’s Hall of Fame ceremony will recognize the accomplishments of alumni both within and outside of athletics — a change from the previous HOF classes.

The Class of 2023 includes Chad Cunningham, Charles Finley, Lloyd Harben, Jimmy Howington, Dianne Mayfield, Gene Odom, Reggie Stowers, Steve Sweat, Grady Turner and Tim Whitmire.

Also included in the inducted class is the 1991 state runner-up Lady Tigers basketball team.