By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Farewell class of 2010
Athletes honored at program
Senior Banquet pic2
Coach Van Samples, left, received the Coach-of-the-Year award at the senior awards banquet May 25. Coach Mark Ragsdale, right, was awarded the Assistant Coach-of-the-Year plaque. - photo by Pam Jacobs Dawson Community News

The 2010 senior letterman awards program was held May 25 in the cafeteria at Dawson County High School. Sixty-two seniors were honored at the dinner and awards ceremony this year.


Dawson County High School Athletic Director Grady Turner welcomed a huge crowd to the banquet.


Turner introduced six head coaches who had the most successful season this past year. Each coach took a letter that spelled out “senior” and used that letter to form words that expressed how they felt about this year’s class.


 “S” was boys soccer coach Jed Lacey, “E” competitive cheerleading coach Kim Fleming, “N” cross-country coach Brian DeRose, “I” was girls soccer coach Rick Corwin, “O” boys and girls golf coach Van Samples, and “R” was head wrestling coach Arron Haynes. Each of these coaches led their teams to the state tournament in their respective sport.


Turner then introduced the 62 senior student athetes.


In this group of senior athletes were the valedictorian, Jessica Abe, and salutatorian, Krista Morgan. Both girls were members of coach Rick Land’s tennis team.


There were also 22 honor graduates among the senior athletes recognized.


The Sandy Walls Memorial Award was presented by Turner to the male and female athlete that expressed the attributes of Coach Walls. Walls was killed in a construction accident several years ago.


“He was a great teacher, a fine member of the community and a great man,” said Turner.


Recipients of the award were chosen by a vote taken of the entire coaching staff at the high school. The coaches were asked to pick a senior athele that had the same characteristics as Walls. Winning the award were Grant Brown and Emily Beusse.


Turner also presented awards to an assistant coach and head coach of the year.


Baseball coach Mark Ragsdale received the assistant coach of the year award.


Van Samples (football, girls golf and boys golf) won the head coach of the year award.


In attendance were coaches: Thad Burgess, Jeff Lee, Rick Corwin, Ruth Leonard, Chris Lundy, Brian DeRose, Kim Fleming, Clint Freeland, Jimmy Pruett, Mark Ragsdale, Arron Haynes, Jed Lacey, Van Samples, Rick Land and Steve Sweat.


This years’ seniors were: Jessica Abe, Jordan Adams, Olin Bearden, Emily Beusse, Jonah Bishop, Alan Boeke, Rebecca Brandt, Grant Brown, Elizabeth Byard, Caitlyn Carr, Jesse Cash, Clara Catalan, Alex Cote, Sydney Cox, Christian Daniel, Nikki Dean, Justin Denard, Dayna Edwards, Hayley Estes, Dylan Garrett, Chase Gilreath, David Gormley, Judith Hall, Kerstin Hlinski, Angelique Holbrooks, Kenny Houseal, Josie Huff, Jade Hyde, Mickeal Jenkins, Kaleb Kicklighter, Andy King, Nick Marsh, Cody Marshall, Brittany McCoy, Ryan Morawsky, Krista Morgan, Megan O’Brien, Sara Kate Parris, Cody Palmer, Zach Paz, Courtney Pittman, Crystal Pittman, Logan Porter, Erin Pruitt, Erika Roberts, Beth Robertson, Lesleigh Romesburg, Tiffanie Rowan, Rene Santillian, Tony Sleigh, Mitch Starling, Vanessa Stowers, Katie Tatum, Cally Taylor, Chelsea Terrell, Lindsey Vinson, Alfonso Visoso, Taylor Welling, Michael Whalen, Zack Williams, Chase Williams and Alyss Woody.