By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Cross country team hits trail
Placeholder Image

The 2013 edition of the Dawson County High School cross country team held its time trials at Rock Creek Park on Friday. The time trials are a competition for spots on the varsity team for Head Coach Charles Beusse's team.

Winning times for the girls' varsity were: Bailey Cotter, Isabel Queen, Cassidy LeCours, Faith Sinclair, Melanie Rimawi, Ansley Costley, Jaylee Leete, Dana Little, Brianna Burt and Heidi Collett.

Cotter and Queen, both freshmen, had very strong showings on the girls' side by taking the top two female spots in the time trial.

"I was also proud of the showing by junior Cassidy LeCours. She's really been a leader all summer and been an important part of getting the freshmen focused and on the right track. Cassidy ran about two minutes faster than she did last year at the time trial and she's really going to contribute to the team this year," Beusse said.

The boys' varsity team will consist of Dylan Forester, Avery Cowart, Bryan Colin, Brandon Barker, Armando Jimenez, Mason Carr, Ben Umberger, Cole Simmons, Matt Hamil and Ben Drew.

There were 20 boys and 20 girls who took part in the time trials.

"Dylan Forester and Avery Cowart led the boys team at the time trial. Both look very fit and ready to go this season. I was also proud of Brandon Barker who worked hard this summer and goes into this season much more prepared than last year," Beusse said.

"Overall, I liked what I saw at the time trials on Friday. Both the boys and girls teams showed some strengths and weaknesses, but for mid-August, I think we are in a decent position," he added.

The team will race at the Longhorn Invitational on Saturday. Normally only seven runners are allowed to race in the varsity meet, but this Saturday 10 runners will be in the division.

"Right now we just need to continue in the direction we are going. I view early season races as glorified workouts and simply another opportunity for me to assess what areas need improvement. There's no doubt that we have some individual talent on both the boys and girls teams, but we need to focus on starting to come together as a team and closing the gap between our first and seventh runners," Beusse said.

This year's junior varsity girls' team will be: Carly Glaze, Emma Daniel, Laryssa Carlisle and Emily Stapler.

The junior varsity boys' team will be: Drew Kellar, Chris Lafontaine, Ethan Cowart, Garrett Carlisle, Andrew Hafermalz, Rhys Adams, Tucker Stowers, Jack Zappendorf, Justin Posey and Tyler Butler.