By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Classic a success
16 teams participate
Wrestling pic3
Tiger wrestler James Evans performs a move against his opponent during the Amicalola Wrestling Classic tournament held at Dawson County High School over the weekend. - photo by Pam Jacobs Dawson Community News

The 27th annual Amicalola Classic wrestling tournament was held Jan. 1 and 2 at Dawson County High School. The tournament was a huge success with Gilmer County taking the team championship.


The tournament was held in a traditional wrestling format, pitting wrestlers from each team against each other. There were 14 different weight classes, ranging from 103 pounds to heavyweights at 285 pounds.


Brackets were set up with a possible 16 wrestlers in each weight class in a double elimination style.


Sixteen teams participated in the event, which included; Gilmer, Chattoga, Towns County, Buford, White County, Commerce, Walnut Grove, Greater Atlanta Christian, Morgan County, Creekview, North Oconee, North Atlanta, Fannin County, St. Francis, Sequoyah and Ola.


Gilmer County High School ran away with the team title, after taking eight first place titles.


The Bobcats also had one wrestler, Jerry Plumley (119), take a second place finish. Winning a first place medal for Gilmer were: Jessie Easley (103), Justin Kar (112), Zach Horton (125), Danynhl Becker (130), Cody Bollinger (145), Hunter Barnes (171), Andrew Smith (189) and James Longino (215). The Bobcats amassed a whooping 316.5 points.


Commerce came in second place with 182 points. Ola finished in third with 143, followed by North Oconee with 131 and Morgan County with 129.5 points.


Although Dawson County was unable to place any wrestler in the top four, the Tigers had several wrestlers perform well.


Wrestling for the Tigers were: Anthony Underwood (103), James Evans (112), Timothy Blythe (119), David Wood (125), Travis Dawson (130), Eian Perry (135), John Markley (140), Preston Adams (145), Evan Kells (152), Jared Stokes (160), Tony Sleigh (171), Zach Paz (215) and Jaziel Bustamante.


Also winning individual titles were: Grant Eddy, Creekview (119), Austin Marlow, North Oconee (135), Dakota Greene, North Oconee (140), Austin Burdick, Chattooga (152), Terrence Martin, Commerce (160) and Joey Carmon, Ola (285).


Dawson County Head Wrestling Coach Arron Haynes said he is especially thankful to all the parents, wrestlers, mangers and the community for making the annual event such a big success.