By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Brown named to all-area
Placeholder Image

Dawson County wrestler Gavin Brown was able to add another honor to his stellar career last week.

The Times of Gainesville named the junior to an elite list of wrestlers as part of the all-area team.

Brown who wrestles for Head Coach Arron Haynes at Dawson County High School completed the season with a state championship in Class AAA at 182 pounds. He finished the season with an amazing record of 48-2.

Brown was also sectional champion in the same weight class.

It was a who's who in wrestling that joined Brown on the first team.

Buford's Chip Ness was named wrestler of the year with a perfect 31-0 record. Ness finished his high school career with four state titles, each in a different weight class. During the past season, Ness wrestled at 220-pounds. The Buford senior is ranked No. 1 in his weight class nationally and will attend the University of North Carolina next year.

Ness finished his career at Buford with a 168-1 record with 114 pins.

Also named first team were: Andrew Burpee (Habersham Central) at 106-pounds; Chris McCracken (Banks County) 113-pounds; Darius Bunch (Buford) 120-pounds; Chase Piperato (Jefferson) 126-pounds; Brayden Hartley (Buford) 132-pounds; Tyler Marinelli (Jefferson) 138-pounds; Rudy Guillen (Buford) 145-pounds; Jack Dollar (Jefferson) 145-pounds; Caleb Little (Jefferson) 160-pounds; Greyson Cochran (Commerce) 170-pounds and Chance McClure (Commerce) 220-pounds.

The only non-state champion was Elliott Raiford (West Hall) at 152-pounds. Raiford was state runner-up.

Tiger teammate Keaton Toal, senior, was named second team All-Area.

Toal completed the season with a 41-4 record. He was area and sectional champion. Toal finished third in the 220-pound weight class at the State Traditional tournament.

Joining Toal on the second team were: Eli Hartley (Buford, 106-pounds); Dalton Flint (Commerce, 106-pounds); Price Joiner (Jefferson, 113-pounds); Austin Brock (Commerce, 120-pounds); Caleb Hamilton (North Hall, 120-pounds); Jack Barber (Buford, 126-pounds); Greg Hilliard (Lumpkin County, 132-pounds); Tanner Thurmond (Jefferson, 132-pounds); Michael Crew (North Hall, 132-pounds); Zach Winter (Flowery Branch, 152-pounds); Edward Vergara (East Hall, 152-pounds); Trent Reddish (Commerce, 160-pounds); Phillip Dean (Banks County, 182-pounds); and Mike Paolozzi (Jefferson, 220-pounds).