By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Boys team finishes third
JV competes in Eagle Run
Placeholder Image

The Dawson County High School junior varsity boys and girls cross country teams competed in the fifth annual Eagle Run at East Jackson High on Sept. 17.

Cassidy Lecours led the Lady Tigers with a sixth place finish and a time of 24:37.06.

Brittany Litke from Buford High School won the race with a time of 22:03.27.

Several other Lady Tigers runners had great races and placed in the top 25 out of 46 runners: Sara Bywaletz (10), Miranda Abe (14), Angelica Santillian (18), Courtney Blair (22), Brooke Lewis (23) and Carly Glaze (24) all ran well for Coach Brian DeRose's team.

Maddy Alverado, Michaella Cooper and Claudia Santillian also ran in the event.

On the boys' side, Dawson County picked up a strong third place team finish, coming in just behind Habersham Central, first, and Clarke Central, second. Both of the top two schools compete in higher classifications than the Tigers.

Zach Wilkens led the Tigers with a 10th place finish and a time of 19:43.56.

Trey Moore from Elbert County won the race with a time of 18:37.62.

Finishing in second place was Avery Williams from Habersham Central. He crossed the finish line with a time of 18:46.33.

Also finishing strong for the Tigers were: Nathan Shelp (15), Ross Walters (19), Johnathan Sanderson (21), Avery Cowart (22), Doug O'Brien (28) and Matt Hamil (32).

There were 86 male runners taking part in the 3,200-meter course.

Also running for Dawson County were: Ben Drew, Mason Carr, Eli Gloeckner, Tony Ramirez, Mason Bearden, Cole Simmons, Spencer Wilkins, Drew Keller and Eric Leonard.

Both teams will compete this Saturday at the Wesleyan Invitational in Norcross.