BOLO: Law enforcement still looking for person of interest in rape incident
Authorities are still searching for the man.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Best of the best
Three Tigers selected All-Area
Placeholder Image

Three Dawson County Tiger baseball players were selected to the All-Area team by The Times of Gainesville last week. Infielder Logan Burt was named to the second team while pitcher Jeffrey Partington and outfielder David Chester were named honorable mention.

Burt, a junior, posted a .442 batting average for Head Coach Jimmy Pruett's team last season. Burt also belted three home runs with 34 RBIs.

Also selected to the second team were outfielders Drew Carson (Jefferson), Brandon Sewell (Gainesville) and Aaron Coleman (Riverside Military Academy). Infielders Chase Dunlap (Jackson County), Caleb Whitenton (Gainesville) and Zach Odom (White County) were also on the list.

Odom was Region 8-AA Player-of-the-Year.

Utility players selected were Hunter Anglin (Gainesville) and Jake Franklin (Jefferson). The catcher was Joey Bart from Buford. Comprising the pitching staff were Spencer Adams (White County), Adam Kelly (North Hall), Brad Keller (Flowery Branch) and Josh Bryan (Buford).

Hitter-of-the-Year went to designated hitter Brett Westmoreland from White County. The senior was a leader in batting average, .538, home runs, 13, and on-base percentage, .673. Westmoreland knocked in 34 RBIs. He also totaled 31 runs and 24 walks.

Westmoreland is currently playing for American Legion Post 247 in Dawsonville.

Pitcher-of-the-year goes to senior Preston Graham from North Hall. Graham posted a 12-3 record for the Class AAA State Runner-Up team. The Trojan senior had a 1.49 ERA with 120 strikeouts.

The Trojans lost to Cartersville in the state finals, but had an impressive 32-6 record and a 20-1 record in Region 7-AAA.

Also selected to the first team were: pitchers Jake Higginbotham (Buford), Jacob Page (Jefferson) and Jonathan Gettys (Gainesville). Infielders: Andrew Smith (North Hall), Colton Tutwiler (North Hall), Griffin Olson (North Hall) and Zach Mize (North Hall). Outfielders: Michael Gettys (Gainesville), Jonathan Hughes (Flowery Branch) and Luke Moore (Gainesville). Utility player Dakota Chalmers (Lakeview) and catcher Syler Weber (Gainesville).

Joining Chester and Partington as honorable mention selections were pitchers: Tanner Gable, Chestatee, Blake Thomas, White County, Micah Carpenter, Jefferson, Dallas Deavers, Lakeview, Chandler Newton, Gainesville, Jack Hagwood, East Hall, Lane Everett, Union County and Coleman Barbee, Jackson County.

Catchers: John Webber, Lumpkin County, Lincoln Stubbs, West Hall and Will Flowers, White County.

First base: Wes Aulet, Union County, Matt Jones, Riverside and Drew Miles, Flowery Branch.

Second base: Josh Nothdorft, Lumpkin County, Billy Hudgins, Banks County and Alex Gaba, Jefferson.

Third base: Jake Mayo, Buford, Dylan Gibeau, Flowery Branch and Stetson Gearin, White County.

Shortstop: Sims Griffith, Gainesville, Austin Upshaw, Buford and Max Ford, Jefferson.

Outfield: McCoy Savage, North Hall, Patrick Burnette, Buford, Cameron Johnson, West Hall, Lincoln Hewett, North Hall, Tyler Hellmeister, Banks County, Joshua Gano, Riverside Military, Nick Corso, Jackson County, Hanon Price, Jefferson and Michael Cronic, West Hall.

Utility: Andrew Weekley, Flowery Branch, Hunter Buffington, East Hall and Zach English, West Hall.

DCN regional staff contributed to this report.