By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Hall of Fame to announce 2013 inductees
Placeholder Image

A Dawsonville man is among 15 semifinalists for the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame's 2013 class of inductees.

This is the second year Dick Brannon has been named a contender in the hall's "Fast 15," which was announced earlier this month.

The winner of more than 200 NHRA, IHRA and AHRA sanctioned drag racing events, Brannon was directly involved in the development of the Ford 427 race engines and played an important role in development of the 1967 Ford Fairlane 427, including one in which Mario Andretti won the Daytona 500.

"It's always nice to have one of our own nominated," said Gordon Pirkle, hall of fame president.

In addition to Brannon, the 2013 semi-finalists include Dick Anderson of Chamblee, Charles Barrett of Cleveland, Hank Blalock of Decatur, Charlie Burkhalter of Athens, Frank Christian of Dahlonega, Tommie Clinard of Macon, Freddy Fryar of Chattanooga, Bobby Johns of Miami, Jabez Jones of Toccoa, Huston Platt of Buford, Sam Sommers of Sylvania, Jimmy Thomas of Columbus, Charles Tidwell of Macon and Frank Warren of Augusta.

The five new inductees will be named during the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame's Memorial Day weekend celebration on Saturday.

The festivities begin at 9 a.m. with a swap meet and a car show. The museum opens at 10 a.m. with a ceremony at noon to name the 2013 class of inductees.

Inductees will be recognized at the hall's annual banquet and awards ceremony Dec. 13 at the racing museum.

Previously held each October, organizers believe moving the banquet to December will allow more racers and fans to attend the event.

For more information, call (706) 216-7223 or go to