BREAKING: Local legislation could provide specific property tax relief to Dawson County seniors. Here’s the latest.
Dawson County seniors are now one step closer to seeing revamped homestead exemptions with the introduction of two bills to the State House.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Dawsonville Racers dive in
Placeholder Image

Stephanie Morgan is entering her 15th year as head coach of the Dawsonville Racers swim team.

Morgan took over the position in 2000 from her youth coach Nancy Horton, who started the team.

In her first year as head coach the team had just five swimmers and each year after the team has grown to average 50-60 swimmers each season.

"Some of our veteran swimmers swim year round with other teams and come back to swim with us during the summer season.

"Watching them achieve their goals from the hard work puts a smile on my face. They are always an asset and big help with the swimmers new to competition on our team," Morgan said.

Brooke Dare will assist Morgan this season.

It is the third season that a Dare sister has helped with the swim team over the years.

"She is an accomplished swimmer herself and is responsible for the swim training workouts, which includes stroke techniques and building endurance," Morgan said.

Appearances at the state meet remain a top priority for several of the swimmers.

"Our state competitors from last year are working hard for a return visit to Tifton for the state meet and several swimmers have goals of qualifying for the first time.

"As a coach, my goal is to expose swimmers to the fun of competition swimming and help our swimmers achieve their personal goals," Morgan said.

There are currently 58 swimmers on this year's roster.

This year's team is composed of the following swimmers: Caroline Adams, Jackson Adams, Ainsley Allen, Maggie Allen, Logan Buytendorp, Benji Chastain, Bryant Chastain, Gabriella Clark, Lanier Coker, Madison Coker, Jayden Dixon, Josiah Dixon, Megan Dixon, Sterling England, Daxton Frady, Ben Gallamore, Abbie Hilchie, Adrienne Hilchie, Avery Hout, Harper Hubbard, Ruthie Hubbard, Autumn Jarrett, Brock Johnstone, Jacob Jones, Elliott Kinsey, Isabelle Kinsey, Aidan Kudlas, Breanna Kudlas, Carsyn Kudlas, David Lane, Emma Leid, Carson Letchworth, Savannah Lewis, Sydney Long, Summer Lundy, Anna McClure, Ryle McDonald, Hannah Moulder, Madelene Noe, Sarah Beth O'Saben, Julia Ossorio, Bella Ragey, Zach Ragey, Addison Redd, Carter Redd, Kinzie Redd, Phoebe Redd, Addie Rucker, Payten Rucker, Ella Siuta, Maddie Siuta, Logan Starr, Keylan Steffins, Martha Corinn Thompson, Grant Trosterud, Maddie Wiley, Joshua Winters and Matthew Wood.

The team will swim tomorrow at the Cornerstone School in Cumming at 4:30 p.m.

Also, on June 13, the Racers will compete in Habersham at the Ruby Fulbright Aquatic Center.