By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Commissioner calls for more resource officers at Dawson County Schools
BOC talks school safety, park projects at first June meeting
School resource officers 2022
Pictured clockwise starting from top left, Dawson County’s current school resource officers are: Lt. Mitch Taylor; Sgt. Josh “Jolly” Rogers; Cpl. Randy Mullis; Dep. Brian Chester; Dep. Rusty Grizzle; Dep. Phillip Cofield; and Dep. Alexis Sutton. Photos submitted to DCN.
During the Dawson County Board of Commissioners’ June 2 work session, District 3 commissioner Tim Satterfield brought up a subject that’s likely been on more parents’ and public officials’ minds lately--school safety. Satterfield asked County Manager David Headley about getting in touch with the Dawson County Sheriff’s Office and the school board to discuss the prospect of more resource officers at the county’s public schools. Right now, there’s one DCSO officer for each of the county’s public schools.