By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Primary 2022: Updated results of Dawson County’s biggest races

Primary 2022 results

By Julia Fechter

Georgia's 2022 general election primary has come to an end, with polls closed around the state and results being announced in multiple competitive races.  

Before Tuesday, 3,351 Dawson County residents voted early in the 2022 primary election, with 258 absentee ballots, said Board of Elections and Registration Director Glenda Ferguson.

For comparison, 3,387 voter cards total were cast in the 2018 primary election, with a turnout of 19.59 percent. 

In Dawson County, 7,208 voters cast ballots in the primary election, out of 21,770 total registered voters in the county. Three provisional ballots and a military one are outstanding as of Tuesday night, Ferguson said. 

The projected voter participation rate was 33.11 percent, a 13.52-percent increase in active voters as compared to the 2018 primary. 

Will Wade, the incumbent Republican candidate for Georgia House District 9, said he was “very impressed” by voter turnout so far when DCN talked to him mid-afternoon Tuesday at Dawson County’s Central Precinct. 

“People are wanting to come and have their voices heard,” Wade said, describing the range of primary races. “People are enthused, and I also think the national situation with inflation has got people that are really upset that the Biden administration is not doing anything to stop it and they’ve done things to make it worse.”

He added that the current economic circumstances have galvanized a lot of voters who aren’t necessarily diehard Republicans or Democrats but people driven to cast ballots in light of “what hurts their families and their wallets.” 

This primary served as a marker to gauge who voters believed would further policies to promote economic prosperity in light of continuing growth in northeastern Georgia and concerns about a recession and elections integrity.

Local results are based on an elections summary report DCN received from the Dawson County Board of Elections and Registration 10:30 p.m. Tuesday. Here are the Dawson County-specific results for the following races:

Dawson County Board of Commissioners District 1

  • Seth Stowers (R): 100%

Dawson County Board of Commissioners District 3 

  • Alexa Bruce (R): 67.82% (projected winner)

  • Deanna Dickinson (R): 32.18%

Dawson County Board of Education at large

  • Nathan Ingram (R): 100%

Dawson County Board of Education District 3

  • Karen Armstrong (R): 100%

U.S. House District 6 

  • Rich McCormick (R): 42.91%

  • Jake Evans (R): 29.85%

  • Bob Christian (D): 65.21% (projected winner)

  • Wayne C. White (D): 34.79%

Georgia House District 7

  • David Ralston (R): 100%

Georgia House District 9 

  • Will Wade (R): 81.67% (projected winner)

  • Tyler Tolin (R): 18.33%

Georgia Senate District 51

  • Steve Gooch (R): 100% 

Secretary of State

  • Brad Raffensperger (R, incumbent): 47.87% (projected winner)

  • Jody Hice (R): 33.53%

  • Bee Nguyen (D): 66.6%

  • Dee Dawkins-Haigler (D): 11.9%


  • Brian Kemp (R): 72% (projected winner)

  • David Perdue (R): 22.81%

  • Stacey Abrams (D): 100%

U.S. Senator 

  • Raphael Warnock (D, incumbent): 95.64% (projected winner)

  • Tamara Johnson-Shealey (D): 4.36%

  • Herschel Junior Walker (R): 69% (projected winner)

  • Gary Black (R): 15.21%