By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Commission sets qualifying fees
Placeholder Image

Qualifying fees for 2012 elections:

• Judge of Probate Court - $1,491.65

• Judge of Magistrate Court - $1,491.65

• Clerk of Superior Court - $1,491.65

• Sheriff - $1,779.87

• Tax Commissioner - $1,491.65

• Coroner - $209.41

• Board of Commissioners, Chairman - $360

• Board of Commissioners - $288

• Board of Education - $72

• County Surveyor - $10

Qualifying fees have been set for the upcoming 2012 countywide elections.

The Dawson County Board of Commissioners voted Jan. 19 to set the fees candidates seeking election must pay to qualify to run for office. Fees range from $10 to run for county surveyor to $1,779.87 for sheriff.

"We looked at Georgia Code to calculate these fees. I calculated them and then got together with County Attorney (Joey) Homans, and we had come up with the same numbers, the same calculations," said Cindy Campbell, chief financial officer.

The commission is required to set and publish the qualifying fees for county offices by Feb. 1.

Elections will be held for sheriff, tax commissioner, clerk of courts, magistrate judge, probate judge, coroner and surveyor this year.

Three commission seats, including chairman, District 2 and District 4, are also up for grabs in 2012.

The fees are calculated at 3 percent of the office's minimum salary based on the county's 2010 population. Supplements, cost-of-living raises and longevity increases are not included in the base salary calculations for sheriff, tax commissioner, clerk of courts, magistrate judge and probate judge.

Qualifying fees to run for coroner, surveyor or school board member is 3 percent of the total gross salary paid in 2011, including all supplements authorized by law.

If the elected official is not paid a salary, the commission must set a fee that is not more than 3 percent of the income that the elected official earned from the office in 2011.

The General Primary for each office will be held from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. July 31.

The last day to register to vote in the General Primary is July 2.