BREAKING: Dawsonville man indicted on felony murder charge following wife’s 2023 death
The local man was initially booked for elder cruelty in March 2023.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Chris Gaines elected District 2 Commissioner
Placeholder Image

Dawson County election results are in and Republican Chris Gaines (R) has been declared District 2 Commissioner, beating out Independent Robert Wiley.

Gaines received 76.58 percent of the vote to Wiley's 23.42 percent. Meaning that out of the 11,836 people in the county that cast a ballot, 8,464 voted for Gaines and 2,589 for Wiley.

The seat is currently held by two-term commissioner James Swafford, who did not seek re-election. Gaines has been elected to a four-year term that will start on Jan 1.

"First I've got to thank my family for their support and love and allowing me the opportunity to serve Dawson County in this manner," Gaines said after the results were finalized. "Second I want to thank the voters who put their trust and belief in me as our community looks to the future. I look forward to working with the existing board and chairman. I also want to thank Rob as we ran a clean race."

Gaines also said that he had collected all of the campaign signs that he put out as of Tuesday night.

"I want to make Dawson County beautiful again," he said.

Wiley, meanwhile, said he was disappointed with the results.

"Me and Chris ran a good, clean race and I appreciate that," Wiley said. "I appreciate everybody's support."

Gaines will join the also newly elected Chairman Billy Thurmond, re-elected District 4 Commissioner Julie Hughes Nix, District 1 Commissioner Sharon Fausett and District 3 Commissioner Jimmy Hamby.

Both Fausett and Hamby's current terms will end on Dec. 31, 2018.

In state and national races:
Dawson County voters selected Incumbent Johnny Isakson (R) for United States Senator with 9,296 votes, or 83.11 percent.
Donald Trump won Dawson County with 9,880 votes to Hillary Clinton's 1,444. Gary Johnson received 356 votes. Trump won 84.59 percent of the votes, Clinton 12.36 percent and Johnson 3.05 percent.

Dawson County also selected Tim Echols as Georgia Public Service District 2 Commissioner with 85.42 percent of the vote to Eric Hoskins' 14.58 percent. Echols won 9,378 votes and Hoskins 1,601 votes.

Dawson voters also voted no to amendment one with 38.67 percent voting yes (4,428 votes) and 61.33 percent voting no (7,022 votes). Voters said yes to amendment two with 83.59 percent voting yes (9,446 votes) and 16.41 percent voting no (1,854 votes). Voters said no to amendment three with 64.72 percent voting yes (6,873 votes) and 35.28 percent voting no (3,746 votes). Voters also said yes to amendment four with 81.93 percent voting yes (9,283 votes) and 18.07 percent voting no (2,048 votes).

Out of 14,591 registered voters in Dawson County, 11,836 cast ballots, making this year's voter turnout 81.12 percent over 2012's 77.6 percent.

For more, see next week's edition of the Dawson County News.