BREAKING: Local legislation could provide specific property tax relief to Dawson County seniors. Here’s the latest.
Dawson County seniors are now one step closer to seeing revamped homestead exemptions with the introduction of two bills to the State House.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Board of Elections member resigns, new woman voted in
A-Board of Elections pic
Board of Elections and Voter Registration members, from left, Spencer Maddux, Katrina Holbrook, Glenda Ferguson, Tom Foley and Dan Pichon take their oath of loyalty as administered by Probate Judge Jennifer Burt. - photo by David Renner Dawson Community News

Chief Registrar and Chairperson Glenda Ferguson is no longer able to claim that she is the only woman on the Board of Elections and Voter Registration board.

"Charlie Vincent is not serving another term," Ferguson said. "Katrina Holbrook will be replacing his membership on the board."

The Board of Elections and Voter Registration became a combined board in 1998.

It is comprised of five members; two from the Republican Party and two from the Democratic Party.

The fifth position is held by the chief registrar who acts as chairperson of the board. Each member serves four year terms.

Vincent had previously served on the board for the past eight years as one of the Republican appointments.

"My entire life, I've been involved in a lot of different boards and committees in various forms of government," he said. "I was appointed in 2006 by Gov. Sonny Perdue and reappointed in 2010 by Gov. Nathan Deal."

Vincent said his decision came about due to his wife's health.

"My wife is homebound now, other than her doctor visits, so I felt that my obligation was to her and our family," he said. "It's been a great opportunity for me. Of all of the things I've served on in my 76 years, this has been very educational to see how elections really work."

Holbrook was sworn in with the rest of the board, which is comprised of Ferguson, Tom Foley, Dan Pichon and Spencer Maddux.

She said that she was excited to begin her four year appointment to the position.