By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
School Board Appreciation Week celebrated
Placeholder Image

This week serves as the observance of School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia.

March 13-17 marks the statewide celebration to salute the efforts of local school board members and their contributions to local boards of education.

"Please join me as we celebrate the Dawson County Board of Education," said Superintendent Damon Gibbs in a release. "They work tirelessly to ensure the needs of our students are kept at the forefront of decisions being made by our district."

Members of the Dawson County Board of Education include: Doris Cook (chair), Karen Armstrong (vice chair), Roger Slaton, Elaine Wilson and Will Wade.

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system and disbursing school funds.

As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.

The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) sponsors the celebration. The mission of GSBA is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia's elected boards of education.

The Dawson County Board of Education has been recognized for the past two years as an Exemplary Board, the highest designation awarded by the Georgia School Board's Association.