By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
High school yearbook staff brings home awards
Yearbook pic
Dawson County High School’s 2010 yearbook staff received many awards at this year’s Georgia Scholastic Press Association’s banquet. Front row: Logan Porter. Second row, from left: Brittany MacDonald, Hayley Moore, Carly Kunkel, Ashley Kirby, Hannah Velcoff, Kerstin Hlinski, Ally Hill, Anna Howland and Kirstie Broadwell. Back row, from left: Peyton Louden, Katie Dowis, Becca Monkus, Kris Sewell, Krista Valetutto and Skye Perry. - photo by For the Dawson Community News

The Dawson County High School yearbook staff received many awards at the Georgia Scholastic Press Association’s annual awards banquet on April 29.


Last year’s book (2009) was awarded the General Excellence Award for being the Top High School Yearbook in the State of Georgia for all Class A/AA schools. It was also recognized as being a “Superior” book, which means that it was one of the top 13 books in all of the state, regardless of school size.


Individual awards were earned for work done in this year’s book (2010).


Kirstie Broadwell earned a superior rating for feature photography and Carly Kunkel earned a superior rating for sports photography. Kerstin Hlinski received a superior rating for her Girls’ Cross-Country Spread design.


Logan Porter, editor of both the 2009 and 2010 books, received 4 “All-Georgia” awards.


All-Georgia awards are given to the top entry in each category. They are equivalent to “First in State.” Logan received All-Georgia for his entries in Best Yearbook Story, Best Spread Design, Best Cover Design and Best Theme Development.


“The students and faculty of DCHS should be very excited to see the 2010 book. Our staff is not only very talented, but also very dedicated. They have all worked extremely hard to make this book the best ever. I am really glad that their efforts have been recognized at the state level,” said Beth Hamby, yearbook advisor.


The 2010 Tiger was distributed to students and faculty May 14.