By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
4-Hers win at district
Four H pic
Dawson County 4-H students competed recently at the district level in Blairsville. - photo by For Dawson Community News

Dawson County Cloverleaf 4-H students traveled to Blairsville to participate in District Project Achievement recently. Many of them came back winners.


Each fifth or sixth grade 4-H student gave an illustrated talk or demonstration on a topic they chose. Most demonstrations last about four minutes, and students chose topics to illustrate.


First place winners included: Sixth grade student Erin Waller, public speaking; fifth grade students, Tristen Donovan, communications, Whitney Bailey, creative stitchery, Micaiah Jenkins, food for the family, Sara Alford, sports, Alexis Matheson, veterinary science and Allie Loggins, workforce preparation.


Second place winners: Sixth grade student Carrie McPherson, horse project; fifth grade students, Erin Jones, arts, Clarissa Quarles, general recreation, Zachary DeMoss, human development and Grace Sheer, wildlife.


Third place winners: Fifth grade students, Chandler Bacon, between meal snacks project, Alyssa Habermann, dog care and training, Savanna Fouts, general recreation, Kaitlyn Wroge, general recreation, Brook Pippin, general science, Faith Greer, international project, Christopher Shelp, international, Elizabeth Morris, science, Derek Nutt, wildlife and Alexis Bagley, performing arts — vocal project.


Other participants were sixth grade student Cassie McPherson, horse project and Addison Washburn, wildlife; fifth grade students, Isaiah Huff, archaeology, Maddison Miller, arts, Rileigh Loggins, crafts, Clarissa Dinsmore, dog care and training, Taylor Hyde, dog care and training, Browynne Hill, general recreation, Tyler Hyde, general science, Drew Albert, history, Ethan Lowe, history, Christine Miller, outdoor recreation, Keylan Steffins, performing arts, instrumental, Collin McGinnis, performing arts and Michaela Cronic, wildlife.