By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
GED graduates honored locally
Placeholder Image

A celebratory mood hovered over the Dawson County branch of Lanier Technical College Thursday, July 12, as GED graduates and their families gathered for a reception hosted by the Dawson County Womans Club.

While the actual graduation from the GED program takes place in August, a reception, along with a brief scholarship presentation, was held for Dawson graduates.

Amber Corbin, 22, received a $500 scholarship from the Helen Taylor GED Scholarship, which is sponsored every year by the Womans Club.

I went back to school for my little boy, Corbin said. I wanted to get a better job, a real job.

Taylor was on hand to present the check, which is made out to both the scholarship recipient and the college.

It is for somebody who has gotten their GED, Taylor said, and they are going to get some more education.

Our involvement stems back to Helen Taylor, said Cindy Jensen, president of the Womans Club. She began the endeavor for adult literacy many years ago.

We give the $500 college scholarship every year, Jensen continued. Its just been very important for us to encourage those who didnt make it for one reason or another. ... We dont want them to go by the wayside. Its so important for them to develop and continue to educate themselves.

Corbin will attend Lanier Technical College beginning this August. She plans to major in healthcare science, and hopes to become a clinical laboratory technician.

Graduation for all GED graduates takes place Aug. 17 at 7 p.m. at Free Chapel in Gainesville. All counties in the Lanier Tech system will be graduating together, said Pat Story with the Dawson County Adult Education Center. But each county will be recognized individually.

Dawson County graduates to be recognized at the August graduation are: Jeremy Alcorn, Kyle Avery, Ricky Chafin, Amber Corbin, Aaron Cruse, Amanda Curry, Nathan Davis, Zach Dinsmore, Rebekah Donovan, Alan Dyer,

Talion Flowers, Stephen Freeman, Jerrie Gillam, Anthony Grady, Waylan Grizzle, Taylor Harkins, Meghan Harris, Dakota Hewatt, Jacqueline Hopper, Tyler Kopazna,

Steven Kyle, Kayla Ledbetter, Darrin Legano, Alexis McClusky, Abigail Mauragas, Elizabeth Michelini, Stephen Newton, Emily Pittman, Kristie Ray, Jordan Reed,

John Ruiz, Sheree Samples, Jacob Smeltzer, Jamie Spratling, Sandy Stowers, Shirley Truitt, Joshua West and Seth Word.