By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Dawson voters approve 1-cent sales tax
FAYI election

Dawson County voters approved extending a 1-cent sales tax for six more years. Known as SPLOST 6, the tax is expected to bring nearly $46 million of revenue into the county and city.

Of 7,201 votes cast yesterday, 70.35 percent said yes (5,066 votes) and 29.65 percent said no (2,135 votes).

An agreement between Dawson County and the City of Dawsonville earlier this year splits those revenues with 85 percent, or $39 million, going to the county, primarily for road improvements and public safety, and 15 percent, or approximately $6 million, going to the city, where $2 million is planned for a park on Main Street and water and sewer improvements.

"The SPLOST 6 vote is confirmation that Dawson citizens recognize future needs for both the County and City and let primarily others pay for them," Dawson County Commission Chair Mike Berg said.

At the state level, two constitutional amendments and a referendum on the ballot passed. Voters in Dawson and across the state approved reigning in state lawmakers by prohibiting them from raising income taxes above the current top rate of 6 percent. A second amendment adds fines for reckless driving to fund medical treatment for those who sustain brain and spinal injuries.

Lastly, voters approved a referendum to allow Georgia's public universities to extend their exemption from property taxes to private companies hired to operate the school's dorms.

Gov. Nathan Deal came out ahead in a tight race with Jason Carter with 204,636 more votes, or 52.81 percent of the total to Carter's 44.83 percent. In Dawson County, Deal received nearly 83 percent of the vote.

David Perdue won the state's senate race and had big support in Dawson. Eighty-three percent of Dawson's 7,304 votes cast gave him their support. Statewide Perdue netted 53 percent to Michelle Nunn's 45 percent. Libertarian Amanda Swafford picked up barely two percent of the vote.