By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
New officers elected
Placeholder Image

The Community Bankers Association of Georgia’s Leadership Division elected new Division 9 officers at the 32nd Annual Leadership Division Convention and Mini-Trade Show in June.


The new Division Nine Chair is Mike Underwood of First Citizens Bank of Georgia, in Dawsonville, and the new Division Nine Vice Chair is Matt Hames of First Cherokee State Bank in Woodstock.


“We are pleased to welcome new and returning members of the CBA Leadership Division Board of Directors,” said Carolyn Brown, president and chief executive officer, Community Bankers Association of Georgia.


“With such a talented and motivated group of community bankers on the board, continued success and growth of all of our divisions is expected. We look forward to working with our dedicated board members throughout the year,” she added.


The leadership division of the association was created in 1980 to educate and inform future bank leaders on the current issues in the banking industry and to prepare them for further leadership roles in their institutions.


The leadership division works closely with many schools and organizations throughout communities to educate the public on community banking, careers in banking and other financial topics.


One of the main principles of the division is to promote economic education by teaching students about banking, saving, spending, interest, credit and other related issues.