By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Primary qualifying begins March 5
FB DCN Government County

Qualifying for the May 22 general primary election in Dawson County begins on Monday and continues through March 9.

Two county commission seats and two board of education seats will be on the ballot this year. 

So far, two have announced their intention to run for county commission seats: Incumbent District 1 Commissioner Sharon Fausett and District 3 hopeful Tim Satterfield, who retired from Dawson County Emergency Services in December.

Fausett is seeking her second term on the board.

Current District 3 Commissioner Jimmy Hamby announced in January that he will not be seeking a third term of office.

Former Sheriff Billy Carlisle announced he would be running for District 3 in January but later stated he would not be running.

Dawson County Board of Education District 3 Incumbent Karen Armstrong announced in February she intends to run again for her seat, and current at-large member Will Wade has yet to announce if he will seek re-election.

 Qualifying fees are set at $288 for the commission seats and $106 for the board of education seats. The commissioners and BOE board members will serve four-year terms.

All qualifying will take place at the Dawson County Board of Elections, located at 96 Academy Ave. in Dawsonville, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. March 5-8 and between 9 a.m. and 12 p.m. March 9.

The voter registration deadline is April 24. Citizens can go online at to register to vote, check their voter status or update their voter information. Registration applications can also be completed at the board of elections office.

Advance voting will be held from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. April 30 through May 18, with Saturday voting held from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. May 12.

April 3 is the first day for absentee ballots to be mailed, and applications can be requested now.

Ballots can be mailed until 5 p.m. May 18.

The board of elections can be reached at (706)344-3640.