By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support local journalism.
Local restaurant gives $2,000 to United Way
Donates 10 percent of sales from first 30 days
I-United Way receives donation pic
Freddys Frozen Custard and Steakburgers restaurant associates present United Way of Dawson County board members with a $2,000 check. From left: Dennis Godfrey, Hope Fettler, Carol Tyger, Tony Akright, Kyle Patel, Drew Skellie and Davida Simpson. - photo by Allie Dean

The store has barely been open a month but the new Freddy's Frozen Custard and Steakburgers restaurant on Ga. 400 is already making a positive impact on the county.

The store last week donated 10 percent of its proceeds from its first 30 days of business, a total of $2,000, to United Way of Dawson County.

Members of the local organization attended a ceremony July 15 where a check for the amount was presented to them by Freddy's representatives.

"United Way is just thrilled with what Freddy's did for us, they're a huge community partner," said Carol Tyger, United Way board member. "We never expected this amount of money. We're always looking to partner with local businesses."

Drew Skellie, regional manager for Freddy's, said that the restaurant plans to do another similar fundraiser during the holidays.

"We always give back to the community as part of our business philosophy," Skellie said.
Present to receive the check were Tyger, co-chair Hope Fettler, secretary Davida Simpson and board member Dennis Godfrey.

United Way's mission is "to improve lives in Dawson County by mobilizing the caring power and spirit of our citizens." Money raised by United Way is distributed across 15 agencies and programs that serve Dawson County residents.

Those agencies include American Red Cross Northeast Georgia Chapter, Challenged Child & Friends, Children's Center for Health and Healing, Dawson County 4-H, Dawson County Family Connection, Dawson County Wee Books Program, Girl Scouts of Historic Georgia, Good Shepherd Clinic of Dawson County, Hall-Dawson CASA Program, Next Generation Youth Development, NOA (No One Alone), Northeast Georgia Council Boy Scouts of America, Rape Response, R.E.A.D. and St. Vincent DePaul.

The organization's 2017 advisory board members include co-chairs Clint Bearden and Fettler, Simpson, Tyger, Godfrey, and other board members Rick Brown, Jack Conner, Emory Dooley, Kirby Smith, Ed Loy and Jim Watson.